Dispatches From The Polar Vortex…And Some Cellar Progress!

I think that by now, we all know that it’s cold this winter. Boston has had 15 more inches of snow than the average, the temperatures have been in the single digits or below, and I am a frugal New Englander living in a house with drafty windows.

What this means is that I’ve been doing the minimum activity required for survival and spending the rest of my time under a comforter (or two) on the couch watching TV. I’m not proud, but I’m not exactly apologizing either.

As you can imagine, this is a de-motivating situation in general, and more specifically, doesn’t lead to a lot of bloggable projects. No one cares that I made soup for the millionth time or went up to Portland to visit Jessie but got snowed in and spent most of the weekend at her apartment watching Netflix. BTW, American Horror Story is wicked scary/addicting.

There are similar signs of ennui all over the internet. Has all of the fun gone out of blogging in 2014? That remains to be seen. In summary, this is a long, drawn out way of saying that I’m sorry for the radio silence and erratic posting schedule.

There is a light at the end of the tunnel, though. Conor has a free day this weekend so we finally got to work on the table for the Art Lab. While I can’t quite cross it off of my New Year’s List yet, I am SO PUMPED about how it is turning out.

I’ll have more details in another post soon, but we used 3/4″ poplar-veneered plywood, regular 4×4 posts, and casters to create the monster worksurface I had envisioned.  The top is 6′ long and 42″ wide!  I think ordering the paper cutter and roll from Amazon as motivation to build the table really worked.  I definitely want to use something to seal the plywood but I haven’t decided on what to use yet.  I need to consult all the handy people in my life.

Conor’s also going to build some storage underneath but I decided that this was quite enough progress for one Sunday afternoon.  Happy Monday, folks.  It’s about 45 degrees in Boston today and it almost feels like Spring.  I’ll take it!

