Sunday Morning Waffles

I forgot to post yesterday. Did you notice? Because I didn’t until about 3 pm. When I was suddenly like F*&$, i didn’t write a post for TLAC. I barely realized it was Friday. Its been one of those weeks.

I was going to try and squeeze something in last night but I stopped working just in time to head out for an amazing date with my guy, bottle of wine, NY pizza and Radio City Music Hall! So the blog had to wait. Plus i really had no clue what I was going to tell you.

This morning I let myself “sleep in”, went on a run, and then came home to conquer another day of work. It’s just going to be one of those weekends. On my to-do list was this blog.

I was going to write about cranberries. But then I made delicious (like amazingly delicious) waffles. And mid-bites I decided I had to share with you.

The picture is terrible, but my real camera has a dead battery. So accept this mid-eating iphone photo and trust me that I wouldn’t share a bad recipe with you.

waffle

You probably think I think it’s Sunday by the title of this post. I don’t! I just recognize that by now you’ve likely already eaten breakfast, and lunch? so stick these in your back pocket for tomorrow morning.

The whole fam will thank you.

p.s. these are filling. Be extra hungry, or make them smaller. Also, if you’ve got a family larger than 2 people I recommend doubling the recipe. You can always make extra and pop them in the freezer. We love pulling out homemade frozen waffles and toasting them up with almond butter for a quick, on-the-go weekday morning breakfast.

 

 

Cozy Cornbread Waffles

Gluten-free, Sugar-free waffles perfect for a cozy winter morning!

Yield: 2 large Belgian-style waffles, 3 small

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats, ground into flour
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 Tbs coconut oil, melted and cooled
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Cooking Directions

  1. Slightly beat egg and add to almond milk. Let sit to room temperature
  2. Melt coconut oil and once cooled add to the milk-egg mixture. Add vanilla.
  3. In a food processor grind oats (or buy oat flour or sub 1/3 c all purpose flour). Add remainder of dry ingredients and pulse ~ 10 times, until all combined.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into dry and pulse until just combined, being careful not to overmix.
  5. Let batter stand while your waffle iron heats (should stand for ~ 5 min.)
  6. Scoop half batter into a grease waffle iron and cook until outside is crisp and golden – i like mine on almost the hottest setting.
  7. Serve topped with almond butter, fruit, or just some good old-fashioned maple syrup!
